Description
What the GE Profile PVD28BYNFS Is
This is a four door French door refrigerator: two doors across the fresh food compartment, a temperature adjustable drawer beneath it, and a freezer drawer at the bottom. GE Profile is the brand’s upper tier, and the feature list reflects that, with dual evaporators, built in Wi-Fi, an integrated dispenser, an LED light tower and a soft close vegetable drawer.
The four door layout exists to solve a specific problem. A full width middle drawer with its own temperature setting gives a household somewhere to put party platters, deli trays, drinks for a crowd or an overflow of vegetables, without opening the main compartment or committing the space to freezing. Households that never use that flexibility are paying for a door they do not need, and a conventional three door French door model such as the GE GFE28GYNFS covers the same capacity ground more simply.
Capacity, Size And Weight
The listing states capacity twice and does not agree with itself. The product title and the description both say 27.6 cubic feet, while the specification field says 27.9 cubic feet. The gap is small in practical terms but it is a real inconsistency, and the description figure is the one GE repeats in its own marketing text.
Dimensions are given as 36.75 by 35.63 by 70 inches, which puts this in the standard 36 inch wide full depth class rather than counter depth. Weight is listed as 388 pounds. That number matters more than most buyers expect: a cabinet of that mass needs a clear delivery path, floor protection, and in many homes a second person or an appliance dolly. Doors normally come off for tight doorways, and that is a job for the delivery team rather than an afterthought on the day.
Electrical And Water Requirements
The specification sheet lists 120 volts. That is a standard North American household supply and this is a plug in appliance, not a hardwired one. The listing does not state the amperage, the plug configuration or whether a dedicated circuit is recommended, so those points belong to GE’s installation manual for the PVD28BYNFS. Refrigerators are commonly given a dedicated circuit precisely because a compressor sharing a circuit with a countertop appliance is a nuisance tripping waiting to happen, but the listing does not specify it and this review will not invent the requirement.
Water is not optional on this model. The feature list includes an integrated dispenser with a sensor, an in-the-door ice maker, hands free autofill and advanced water filtration. Every one of those needs a cold water supply plumbed to the refrigerator position, with an accessible shutoff valve. If the kitchen has never had a plumbed refrigerator, that work needs pricing into the purchase and should be done by a plumber. Filters are also a recurring cost, and a household that skips filter changes will eventually see slower dispensing and worse tasting ice.
TwinChill And The Wi-Fi
GE describes TwinChill as dual evaporators, meaning the fresh food and freezer compartments are cooled by separate systems rather than sharing air through a damper. The manufacturer’s argument is that this keeps humidity in the fresh food side and stops food odors migrating into the freezer. That is a design claim from GE rather than a measured result, and it is a genuine hardware difference rather than a software feature.
Built in Wi-Fi and smart capability are listed, along with a door alarm and an enhanced Shabbos mode. What the listing does not do is describe what the app can and cannot do, and app functionality on connected appliances changes over the life of the product. Buyers who want the connectivity should treat it as a bonus rather than the reason to buy, because the compressor, the evaporators and the door seals are what determine whether the refrigerator is still good in ten years.
Highlights
- Four door French door layout with an adjustable temperature middle drawer.
- Energy Star certified, with TwinChill dual evaporators.
- 120 volt plug in operation with a door alarm and enhanced Shabbos mode.
- Integrated dispenser, in-the-door ice maker and hands free autofill.
- Advanced water filtration, LED light tower and soft close vegetable drawer.
- Fingerprint resistant stainless steel with adjustable, gallon and tilt pocket door storage.
- Four shelves, with a one year warranty stated on the listing.
Things To Consider
The listing contradicts itself on capacity, 27.6 cubic feet in the description against 27.9 in the specification table. It also carries a corrupted data field: the Special Feature entry begins with a block of raw JavaScript from the retail page before the actual feature list starts. That is a scraping artifact rather than a product characteristic, and it is a reminder that these tables are assembled automatically and should not be treated as verified.
Plumbing is required for the dispenser, the ice maker and the autofill feature, and none of that is usable without it. The warranty is stated as one year, which is short for an appliance in this price class, so extended coverage terms are worth reading before purchase.
At 388 pounds and full depth, this is not a cabinet that gets moved on a whim, and floor loading, doorway width and turning space all need checking first. Households with tighter kitchens should be comparing the compact French door models such as the GE GYE18JYLFS, and anyone whose ice needs are the real motivation may find a countertop machine from the ice makers category answers the question far more cheaply.
Who Should Buy It, And Who Should Not
It fits a large household that wants a flexible middle drawer, filtered water and ice at the door, and connected features, in a kitchen that already has or can accept a plumbed water line and a full depth cabinet.
It is the wrong purchase where no water line is available and none can be run, where the kitchen needs counter depth, or where a simpler cabinet would do the same job. The rest of the refrigerators category covers those alternatives, including the side by side format in the Samsung RS27T5200SR.













